
as would cause or manifestly tend to cause any such person to become or to remain a person who is a “neglected child,” 
“child in need of supervision” or “delinquent child,” as defined in NRS 201.090, is guilty of contributory neglect or 
contributory delinquency. Contributory neglect or contributory delinquency is a misdemeanor.
      2.  A person does not commit a violation of subsection 1 by virtue of the sole fact that the person delivers or induces 
the delivery of a child to a provider of emergency services pursuant to NRS 432B.630.
      [Part 1:165:1909; A 1911, 382; 1921, 21; 1955, 152] — (NRS A 1967, 474; 1973, 1351; 2001, 1265)

ABORTIONS; CONCEALING BIRTH

NRS 201.120 Abortion: Definition; penalty. Repealed. (See chapter 265, Statutes of Nevada 2019, at page 
1504.)

NRS 201.130 Selling drugs to produce miscarriage; penalty. Repealed. (See chapter 265, Statutes of Nevada 
2019, at page 1504.)

NRS 201.140 Evidence. Repealed. (See chapter 265, Statutes of Nevada 2019, at page 1504.)

NRS 201.150 Concealing birth; penalty. Every person who shall endeavor to conceal the birth of a child by any 
disposition of its dead body, whether the child died before or after its birth, shall be guilty of a gross misdemeanor.
      [1911 C&P § 185; RL § 6450; NCL § 10132]

BIGAMY, INCEST AND SEXUAL ACTS IN PUBLIC

NRS 201.160 Bigamy: Definition; penalty.
      1.  Bigamy consists in the having of two spouses at one time, knowing that the former spouse is still alive.
      2.  If a married person marries any other person while the former spouse is alive, the person so offending is guilty of 
a category D felony and shall be punished as provided in NRS 193.130.
      3.  It is not necessary to prove either of the marriages by the register and certificate thereof, or other record evidence, 
but those marriages may be proved by such evidence as is admissible to prove a marriage in other cases, and when the 
second marriage has taken place without this State, cohabitation in this State after the second marriage constitutes the 
commission of the crime of bigamy.
      4.  This section does not extend:
      (a) To a person whose spouse has been continually absent from that person for the space of 5 years before the second 
marriage, if he or she did not know the spouse to be living within that time.
      (b) To a person who is, at the time of the second marriage, divorced by lawful authority from the bonds of the former 
marriage, or to a person where the former marriage has been by lawful authority declared void.
      [1911 C&P § 191; RL § 6456; NCL § 10138] — (NRS A 1967, 475; 1979, 1428; 1995, 1197; 2017, 787)

NRS 201.170 Marrying person already married; penalty. If a person, being unmarried, knowingly marries the 
spouse of another, that person is guilty of a category D felony and shall be punished as provided in NRS 193.130.
      [1911 C&P § 192; RL § 6457; NCL § 10139] — (NRS A 1967, 475; 1979, 1429; 1995, 1198; 2017, 788)

NRS 201.180 Incest: Definition; penalty. Persons being within the degree of consanguinity within which 
marriages are declared by law to be incestuous and void who intermarry with each other or who commit fornication or 
adultery with each other shall be punished for a category A felony by imprisonment in the state prison for a minimum term 
of not less than 2 years and a maximum term of life with the possibility of parole, and may be further punished by a fine of 
not more than $10,000.
      [1911 C&P § 193; RL § 6458; NCL § 10140] — (NRS A 1979, 1429; 1995, 1198; 2005, 2877)

NRS 201.190 Commission of certain sexual acts in public: Definition; penalty. Except as otherwise provided 
in NRS 200.366 and 201.230, a person of full age who commits anal intercourse, cunnilingus or fellatio in public is guilty 
of a category D felony and shall be punished as provided in NRS 193.130.
      [1911 C&P § 194; A 1951, 524] — (NRS A 1963, 62; 1967, 475; 1973, 95, 254; 1977, 866, 1632; 1993, 515; 1995, 
1198)

INTENTIONAL TRANSMISSION OF HUMAN IMMUNODEFICIENCY VIRUS

NRS 201.205 Penalty; affirmative defense.
      1.  A person who, after testing positive in a test approved by the State Board of Health for exposure to the human 
immunodeficiency virus and receiving actual notice of that fact, intentionally, knowingly or willfully engages in conduct 
in a manner that is intended or likely to transmit the disease to another person is guilty of a category B felony and shall be 
punished by imprisonment in the state prison for a minimum term of not less than 2 years and a maximum term of not 
more than 10 years, or by a fine of not more than $10,000, or by both fine and imprisonment.
      2.  It is an affirmative defense to an offense charged pursuant to subsection 1 that the person who was subject to 
exposure to the human immunodeficiency virus as a result of the prohibited conduct:
      (a) Knew the defendant was infected with the human immunodeficiency virus;
      (b) Knew the conduct could result in exposure to the human immunodeficiency virus; and
      (c) Consented to engage in the conduct with that knowledge.


